Storypick mistakes a district for a state.

What is the first thing that you read in an article? What is the first thing that attracts your attention?

Well, for me the answer is the headline. If the headline is good and catchy then I will go and read the piece.

It is always safe to say that a headline should be correct in all possible ways.

A few hours back, a social media page called Storypick posted an article that attracted my attention. Rather, I should say that it managed to shock me. When I began reading it, I realized that the headline was totally misleading.

I have been studying in the state of Jammu and Kashmir since a long time now. So, quite naturally, anything that happens in the state does concern me.

I saw the article, “People in Jammu and Kashmir need a license to create a whatsapp group. WTH is happening” , on my Facebook Newsfeed and  I was left appalled. When I began reading the content I realized that this notice was only issued by the state government for the district of Kupwara. The region has been experiencing violence and protests  for ten days now.

img_0627

I hope Storypick knows that the state of Jammu and Kashmir has many districts and it has three regions- Jammu, Ladakh, and Kashmir. Storypick, when you have the proof of something, publish the right information.

Misleading headlines are nothing less than a sin in the world of journalism. I have left a comment on their post. Hopefully, they will rectify the mistake. It has been an hour though. Reminds me of the piece that I wrote on Indian express, Indian Express misspells ‘Neerja’.

 

Leave a Reply

