Bitter Truth: India Is NOT The Greatest.

“We are citizens of a great country, on the verge of bold advance, and we have to live up to that high standard. All of us, to whatever religion we may belong, are equally the children of India with equal rights, privileges, and obligations.”  – Jawaharlal Nehru, Tryst of Destiny.

This is what Jawaharlal Nehru, our much loved Chacha Nehru said moments before India gained independence. It’s been 70 years since the words were spoken and we still have miles to go.

Today, I am not so proud to be an Indian. I know I’ll be judged, but at least I am true to myself. My nation is walking on the wrong path and I don’t want to just sit and watch because my love for my country isn’t blind. I am honest enough to accept the bitter truth that India isn’t a great nation. Our history was great but we can’t keep boasting about the past when our present is so fucked up.

It is high time that we as a nation learn to accept our flaws and work on them. We can’t be all overconfident all the time and think that we are perfect. We know our legal system is laid back, we know we have criminals and rapists walking free, we know that so many of our kids are not getting quality education, we know that we aren’t fair to our brothers in Kashmir with all those pellets, we know our athletes don’t win much because we don’t provide them with adequate resources, we know that we are not that perfect. So, why do we have to keep living in a pretentious world?

We need to start with making this country a peaceful place. We have to kill the color politics and talk to our people in Kashmir, Manipur, Nagaland. We need to understand the demands of the Maoists and the Naxalites. These are our people, they don’t feel free in this free nation. It is our responsibility to make them feel home. Let’s not delay it any further and try to talk things out for once and for all.

When our people will be together then it will be impossible to lose at anything. We will overcome all the difficulties as a unified body.

On this Independence day, I hope that all our citizens find happiness and peace. And lastly, INDIA IS NOT THE LAND OF THE RISING SUN, JAPAN IS. So, stop this overconfidence. India isn’t that great. Let’s come out of this hypothetical world, work hard and make our country a better and a happier place to live in.

Jai Hind!

Saare jahan se acha hoga Hindustan humara!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. miraclewings says:

    We aren’t living in the hypothetical world neither shall I judge you rather what I hope to hear from you is what have you done to make India great? Don’t you think what you do is more important than saying we’ve miles to go. Dr. Kalam said what people does, government does should stand secondary for us but before asking questions you must be prepared to say what have you done? You as a free thinking citizen of India do have any contributions from your side? Before saying India isn’t that great say it isn’t because of me & I’m not shied away from saying I’m proud to be an Indian cause I’ve something say on behalf of my contributions. Let us not not keep saying I’d rather say start doing. It is great & it’ll great if you believe in it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. akshatashukla says:

      I think the moment I said “we” I included myself in the list. Also, I appreciate your comment.

      Like

  2. Pooja says:

    EVery movement has a beginning.
    To begin we need an understanding of how to go.
    To be able to be on the right path.
    It’s necessary to identify and be aware of the obstacles.
    Nd in a manner u’ve managed to do your bit.
    Well done 👍

    Like

Leave a Reply

